Read to Clean

Okay, I am pretty sure that my husband does not get my logic in reading about organizing before I actually clean.  I think he would rather I just get started.  But sometimes a girl just needs external motivation and really good ideas to get going!  Here are several book titles that are available at the Lincoln libraries. I will also include links to several great websites that include cleaning checklists and fun encouragement.  Hopefully you will find something that resonates with you.  And if your house does not get clean because you can’t put down the organizing book, please feel free to blame me!  🙂

P.S. If you don’t have time to look at the resources below, you may enjoy taking the time to look at this “letter” that Tiffany found a few months ago – encouragement on raising boys to be good husbands someday!

http://themobsociety.com/2013/01/got-chores-the-basics-for-boys/comment-page-1/#comment-63749

Resources

Natural Cleaning for Your Home: 95 Pure and Simple Recipes  by Casey Kellar 

I previewed this book and was impressed by the simplicity and practicality of the cleaners.  I think I would be willing to try some of her recipes, but I am practical enough to feel that I need to use up the cleaners I currently have on hand.  If you need to buy products anyway, this could be the place to start!

Clutter’s Last Stand: It’s Time to De-Junk Your Life by Don Aslett (He has 12 titles available at the library all having to do with cleaning and organizing your home & life – I have quickly looked at several of his titles – this happens to be his most recent).

It’s All Too Much book (audio and print) plus workbook by Peter Walsh (He has several other titles as well, mainly about letting go of stuff!)

Winning the Clutter War by Sandra Felton (She writes for “Messies” – has been on Focus on the Family)

http://sandrafeltontheorganizerlady.blogspot.com/

The books that I currently have at my house (ones for moms!)

The House that Cleans Itself by Mindy Starns Clark  Written from a Christian perspective, this book is at the library, and I also purchased it.  Her basic idea is that if you get systems in place, you should have to spend very little time cleaning.  I have not finished the whole book yet, so I am quite certain that is why my house is not clean all of the time. 🙂 

Hannah’s Art of Home: Managing your Home Around your Personality  by Hannah Keely At first I did not get the concept of this book – what does what I am like have to do with anything?  But as I have looked further, I am realizing that maybe it does.  I tend to be a creative person, and that can at times interfere with my desire to clean.  Hannah has seven children, so I figure she maybe knows about needing to organize.  She has a website with free resources as well.

http://hannahkeeley.com/

Only go on there if you have time – she has A LOT of options and ideas.  Not a good idea if you are distracted easily.  (Hey, I managed to come back to what I was writing to you, didn’t I?)

Confession of an Organized Homemaker by Deniece Schofield  Sections in the book: Organization as a Way of Life: The kitchen; Other rooms and other people; Storage; Where to Start
This is very nuts and bolts, so if you are creative, this one might bog you down.  She also has a website, but it is only products that she sells.  No practical ideas there.

Sink Reflections by Marla Cilley (otherwise known as the FlyLady)

http://www.flylady.net/  If you sign up for her e-mails, you can get daily reminders of different chores and what to do when. If you are feeling overwhelmed, this site could be a good one for you.  Definitely full of encouraging ideas!

Absolutely Organized: A Mom’s Guide to a No-Stress Schedule and Clutter-Free Home by Debbie Lillard

This book I will probably read cover to cover.  Her ideas are very practical, and she gets the struggles of trying to organize when you have kids.  Her website not only has practical ideas, but she also has videos.  I think I am going to click one on tomorrow and watch it while I work on organizing papers.  I won’t feel quite as guilty if I am working at the same time.

http://www.spacetospare.com/

Here are two very good checklists (spring cleaning and chores) from Family Education, as well the link to all other articles on chores (in case you want to get your kids more involved like I do!)

http://life.familyeducation.com/parenting-tools-printables/time-management-printables/73384.html?WT.mc_id=SOP_2013-03-25_email

http://printables.familyeducation.com/jobs-and-chores/organization/64303.html?detoured=1

http://life.familyeducation.com/allowance/jobs-and-chores/34438.html

Here are books from the library for kids on cleaning (in case your kids also need to read to clean!)

This is the House That Was Tidy & Neat by Teri Sloat

Mr. Tuggle’s Troubles by LeeAnn Blankenship

The Block Mess Monster by Betsy Howie

At least nicer weather is finally here, making it a bit easier to want to do spring cleaning!  🙂  If you have any other great resources that have helped you to be more organized, please share them on our Facebook page or comment below. 

 

