Changing the World No Matter Where You Are

Joel 2:28 “Then, after doing all those things,
I will pour out my Spirit upon all people.
Your sons and daughters will prophesy.
Your old men will dream dreams,
and your young men will see visions.

Today is the National Day of Prayer.  A great day to celebrate the way that I feel we can make the biggest impact as moms – prayer.  Now I am not talking about lengthy oratories where we spend an hour on our knees – as a mom, you would have to get up awfully early to do that.  But instead, having an attitude throughout the day of being in constant communication with God – seeking His guidance and direction.  Even more than that, we have the privilege of teaching the next generation to seek His face.  That prayer does not need to be complicated, but that it is crucial to our well being.

One of my goals as a mom is teach my children to be unselfish and to think of others.  (A good goal for me as well!)  One place to start with this is to make sure that our prayers go beyond the four walls of our house.  That we pray for more than just our family.  Praying for those who are sick and hurting.  Praying for others in our church.  Praying for our country.

While we are not overseas sharing the gospel, we can pray for those who are.  I still vividly remember the names of many missionaries because we used to pray for them as a family when I was growing up.  I am pretty sure that we did not do this every night, but we did pray enough that I can recall who those dear people are.  We can also pray for local ministries and then point out where the places are if we drive by them.

How can you know how to focus your prayers?  Here are 2 suggestions that I have heard that I want to start doing.

1) Pray through your Christmas card pictures.  We still have ours posted on the doorway in our kitchen.  How easy would it be to put a simple post-it tab on the picture and move it around as we pray for the people!  (Why I have not started this yet, I do not know! 🙂

2) Use a prayer pail and draw out a new name to pray for each night.  We made these last year at MOPS as a craft – sadly mine never was finished (hopefully soon!)  I know that the moms in our group who have used them say that they are a blessing.  Here is a link to the project in case you were not a part of MOPS last year (or in case you want to make more!)

http://www.lubirdbaby.com/2009/07/prayer-pail.htmlhttp://

Finally, here is a link to an article that features ideas on ways that we can teach our children to pray big!

http://www.todayschristianwoman.com/articles/2012/septemberoctober-issue/three-world-changer.html

May today be the day when we will all start (or continue) the process of living out I Thessalonians 5:17!

