In a bubble?

A week ago Thursday (4/18) was a bit of a significant day for our family.  Sadly, due to busyness, the day went uncelebrated.   My spiritual birthday was last Thursday – 35 years of following Christ.  (Yep, I am old).  I would not know that date other than my Mom’s precious script noting the day.  The other significance of April 18th – my oldest turned  10 and a half.  As you can imagine with 4 kids we do not have half birthday parties or anything (I can barely keep up with their actual day!).  But for me, the day was milestone.  2  1/2 years exactly until my son becomes a teenager.

Now I am not worried about the teenage attitudes yet, although I might feel differently 5 years from now when I have 2 of them (or 8 1/2 years from now when I have four at one tim!.)   But for now what concerns me are these verses from John 17.

14 I have given them your word and the world has hated them, for they are not of the world any more than I am of the world. 15 My prayer is not that you take them out of the world but that you protect them from the evil one. 16 They are not of the world, even as I am not of it. 17 Sanctify them by the truth; your word is truth. 18 As you sent me into the world, I have sent them into the world.

The implications of this question is what scares me:  how can I insulate my children from the world without isolating them so that they are unable to make an impact for Christ?  How do I avoid putting my children in a bubble, yet keep them “unstained by the world,” as it says in the end of James 1?  How can I have them minister to others without turning to wrong choices themselves?  As a mom, how can we serve as a family?  How can we make a positive impact in a world that is so out of whack most of the time?

God has put it on my heart to write a mini series of blogs about service and even a bit about world view.  I promise that it should not be too many entries.  After all, while I am nearing the end of my preschool parenting, for some of you, you are just beginning.    You are asking, “How can I worry about the world when I just want to make it through one day without having to clean up an accident?”   I know that when we have young children, our worlds can become pretty small.  I personally think that is a good thing.  But now that my youngest is four, suddenly I am feeling like we can begin venturing out more.  (But if you are not there yet, please ignore these entries or file them mentally away for a later day. )

The newsletter today will be starting out the series with a few thoughts on service.  Mentor Pam will give us her insights into how we can live by our priorities.   Then I will follow up with ideas of how we can serve others even during the season of motherhood.  I will also ponder the 2nd part of my dilemma – how we can insulate our children from the negative effects of the world.  The conversation might be a little bumpier, but I am trusting that God guide me toward his truth.  While my opinions might be off, His Word will not be.  Thank heaven for that!

P.S. See you all at our silent auction in less than 2 hours.  Don’t forget your checkbook! 🙂

 

 

 

