Resurrection Eggs

This was originally going to be a part of the newsletter, but the more I began searching this topic, the more great ideas that I found.  So, to make this as accessible as possible, I decided to write a blog entry.   This way you can click directly on the link and go straight to the site, without having to cut and paste.  So many of our MOPS moms have been blessed by using these eggs.  We hope that this will become a part of your tradition as well!  (Note: I only previewed the initial links – I did not preview every blog in its entirety, so please use cautions if you choose to look around the sites!)

My Favoritest Easter Tradition. Ever.

This is a tradition that I actually started as a before I had kids – using Resurrection eggs.  If you have not heard of these, they are plastic eggs that are filled with different Easter story symbols.  This was one of my favorite activities that I ever did as a teacher.  Back then, I would hide a candy-filled egg with each student’s name on it.  We would then have a silent Easter egg hunt (the only way possible with 11 year olds), followed by a time spent opening Resurrection eggs and reading verses that went with each object.  Since both grandmas love to have candy egg hunts, I tend to skip that part now.  But, it would not be Easter without Resurrection eggs for me.  I will continue this tradition as LONG as possible! 🙂  Here are links to buy or make your own, as well as egg activities (including a printable scavenger hunt!)

www.familychristian.com/resurrection-eggs.html

http://shop.familylife.com/p-2835-a-kids-easter-bundle.aspx  (includes a book!)

www.thissimplehome.com/2012/03/homemade-resurrection-eggs-printable.html

www.motherhoodonadime.com/kids/preschool-resurrection-eggs/ (only six)

http://eclectichomeschool.org/articles/article.asp?articleid=74  (extras!)

family.yourway.net/diy-ressurection-eggs-easter-story-book-printables/

Ideas for Resurrection eggs and links to even more: http://www.1plus1plus1equals1.com/RaisingRockStarsEaster.html

Do you not have time or energy to find the objects to make your own eggs?  Print them out instead!  These objects fit inside the eggs.  Simply print and cut around the shapes.  If you have a color printer, you are set.  (If not, will the kids really care?  Not like black & white?  Color part of them & call it good 🙂  )

http://www.christianpreschoolprintables.com/Pages/Easter/EasterResurrectionEggs.html

A scavenger hunt to go on with the eggs!

http://www.diva-girl-parties-and-stuff.com/resurrection-eggs.html

Do you not have time or energy to find the objects to make your own eggs?  Print them out instead!  These objects fit inside the eggs.  Simply print and cut around the shapes.  If you have a color printer, you are set.  (If not, will the kids really care?  Color part even & call it good 🙂  )

Bible Themes

Not Resurrection eggs, but a list of Scriptures you can cut out and add to plain eggs along with candy for something “new”:

http://www.knowledgehouse.info/EasterBibleVerses.pdf

61 PAGES of ideas – amazing!  http://www.familylife.com/~/media/Files/FamilyLife/Products/resurrectionEggs_activity_book_template.pdf         (you may have to copy/paste this one)

P.S. We did a Resurrection Easter egg hunt the other day.  I was a smarter in my approach.  Since we have plenty of Easter eggs, I hid 4 of each color combination.  (You can probably guess who found the pink & purple eggs).  They each had 4 eggs to find – then it was not as much of a competition.  I did realize though that I need to have them empty their eggs on to a table and not put the items back in.  That way I can switch the objects around, and they are not always hunting for the same thing.

