Top o’ the morning to you

St. Patrick’s Day now has a new significance to me as one year ago tomorrow, my brother married my lovely sister-in-law, Courtney, who we are so glad joined our family.  Before that, I sometimes remembered what was going on the 17th and to wear green, but probably forgot often too.  Other than the years that I was teaching fifth grade – I had to remember then for my own personal “pinchless” safety!

I do like what comes with St. Patrick’s day – the green that is starting to arrive outside,  warmer weather and Shamrock shakes.  But since I began working with children, I have also come to appreciate the religious significance of what Saint Patrick brought to Ireland.  He showed a culture that primarily focused on pagan rituals the path to finding God.  One way he did this was by using the Irish symbol of the shamrock.  So, if you would like to teach your children a lesson that Patrick taught the Irish, here is a link to a great craft idea.

http://www.christianpreschoolprintables.com/StPatricksDay.html

And in honor of tomorrow being Sunday (as well as Saint Patrick’s Day), it seems fitting to end this post with a traditional Irish blessing.

May the road rise to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face.
And rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the hollow of His hand.

