The Power of a Love Song

Subtitled: “Why I Think You Should Make a Love Song Playlist if you are Married”  (The other title fit a little bit easier into the title line 🙂  )

I am currently taking one of 2 classes that I need to renew my teaching license before it expires in August.  To be honest, I should be upstairs reading my Multiple Intelligences in the Classroom instead of blogging.  Can you say procrastination?  That is a whole other topic that I may get to …  someday.  Anyway, one of the things that was required of me this week was to take an intelligences assessment.    Each of the 8 intelligences had 10 identifiers.  Musical intelligence was almost a 10 out of 10 for me.  (I had to be honest that I cannot always tell when a note is out of key – I practiced on pianos that were generally out of tune growing up – kind of dulled my pitch sense).  Anyway, my husband is also musical.  Looking around our house, I think we have 2 drum sets, 1 piano, 1 electric piano, 2 mandolins, 3 electric guitars, 1 bass plus at least 7 acoustic guitars.  Not to mention my collection of “kid” instruments, including cymbals – not sure what I was thinking on buying those.  I am sure I am forgetting about some instruments, but obviously we are a musical family.  We have “My Bridge Radio” on in all of our kids’ rooms all of time and often on in the kitchen.  Music everywhere.  So, I was very surprised to learn that one of my friends rarely listens to music, even in the car.  I was shocked, but maybe we listen too much.  Anyway, I know that this column will resonate with many of you, but some of you may not get it.  That’s okay. 🙂

For me, one of the things that has positively impacted my marriage is listening to love songs.  Now, I am not talking about songs that are necessarily played on the radio, but songs that really talk about commitment.  I’m sorry but “Hello, I love you, won’t you tell me your name?” really has nothing to do with being able to stay married.    Neither do many other pop songs on the radio, although there are a few.  Most of the songs that really “move” me to think positively about my husband were recorded by Christian artists.  This should not be too surprising since God is the one that is the author of love.

I do have on my i-pod a 40 song playlist that I made for our anniversary a few years ago.  (I might update it soon to add some “new” songs that are meaningful now).  If I am frustrated with my husband, I will play the songs as they mellow me out.  They help me to remember how much I really do love him.  Or if we have been especially busy, I will play the songs because they make me long to make the time to spend with my husband.  I am inspired to rearrange our schedule to do just that.  Music can definitely affect the emotions, and these songs have helped me to remember.  The power of forgiveness.  The power of connection.  The power of love.  (Don’t worry – I am not going to break out into that Huey Lewis song or anything).  God has used these songs to soften my heart.

A few songs that will always remain on my list.  “Godsend” by DC Talk – the song that I listened to over & over on the ski trip right after I had met Kyle and had already begun praying that he might be the one for me.  (Everyone else was out skiing that morning- I was the only one around, otherwise maybe we would not be married today, since that was maybe a bit crazy. 🙂  )  “Go There With You” by Steven Curtis Chapman from our wedding.  And “My Place is with You” – also from our wedding sung by our friend, Matt, who actually put the song on his one album.  Our wedding is definitely worth remembering.  Songs that I will be adding – “When I Say I Do” by Matthew West (from my sister’s wedding) and “Love Never Fails” by Brandon Heath (from my brother’s wedding) – both songs remind me of the joys of new love!

Here is a peek into part of my playlist.  While there are several “secular” songs on the list, I think those type of songs can be easier to find.  So the songs that I am sharing are all “Christian” songs.  Wanting not to bother with lots of songs but looking for a great album?  I LOVE Steven Curtis Chapman’s “All About Love” cd –  songs he wrote or redid for his wife.  Always puts me in a “loving” mood.    Here are ten other songs.

“Optional Thing” by Wes King
“To Keep Love Alive” by Out of the Grey
“Love will be our Anchor” by Gary Chapman
“You’re Lucky I Love You” by Susan Ashton
“What God Has Joined Together” by Paul Overstreet
“Answered Prayer” by Lisa Beville & Bob Carlisle
“Be Mine” by Vota
“Kiss Me Like a Woman” by Charlie Peacock
“Firefly” by Jimmy Needham
“I Still Love You, Simple as That” by Bryan Duncan

I originally really heard this next song on a wedding video of one of my student’s brothers.  I think this “Love Song” by Third Day is worth having on every i-pod, and the words are so powerful that I feel that they are worth sharing.

I’ve heard it said that a man would climb a mountain
Just to be with the one he loves
How many times has he broken that promise
It has never been done
I’ve never climbed the highest mountain
But I walked the hill of Calvary

Just to be with you,I’d do anything
There’s not a price I would not pay
Just to be with you, I’d give anything
I would give my life away

I’ve heard it said that a man would swim the ocean
Just to be with the one he loves
But all of those dreams are empty emotions
It can never be done
I’ve never swam the deepest ocean
But I walked upon the raging sea

Just to be with you,I’d do anything
There’s not a price I would not pay
Just to be with you, I’d give anything
I would give my life away

I know that you don’t understand the fullness of My love
How I died upon the cross for your sins
And I know you don’t realize how much that I gave you
But I promise, I would do it all again

Just to be with you, I did everything
There’s not a price I did not pay
Just to be with you, I gave everything
Yes, I gave my life away

P.S. Other songs I want to add from my siblings’ weddings: Michael Buble’s “Crazy Little Thing Called Love” from Joel & Courtney’s wedding.  And “God Gave Me You” from Sheila & Brady’s wedding.  The last song we listened to a lot last February as Kyle played the mandolin as my brother sang it at that wedding.  Our kids loved the song and went around singing it often.  One of the lines is “God gave me you for the ups and downs.”  Our younger kids misunderstood the words and sang “God gave me you for the upside downs” at the top of their lungs instead.  Besides the fact that it was cute, I did not want to correct them as I decided that they were true words.  Sometimes marriage can make you feel like you are upside down. 🙂

