Bonus: One Book for Reading (for Moms!)

As much as I enjoy reading to my kids, I love reading by myself even more.  As lately there seems to be hardly anything worth watching on television, I have found myself closing my day by reading.  My favorite evenings lately have been sitting on the couch by our fireplace, reading while my husband plays his guitar nearby.  (The kids need to be in bed for the night of course, otherwise I can hardly finish a sentence, much less a chapter 🙂   Christmas stories are some of my favorites.   I am reading a few of the Love Inspired titles right now, and some of them are pretty good.  But I probably enjoy these other titles more.  Here is a list of Christmas books that I have read (over the course of several years, not all in the past week! 🙂

Note: books with a star* can be found at the Lincoln Libraries

The Great Christmas Bowl and *Baby, It’s Cold Outside by Susan May Warren

*Red Gloves Series by Karen Kingsbury (should be read in order), includes Gideon’s Gift, Maggie’s Miracle, Sarah’s Song & Hannah’s Hope

The Gift of Christmas Present and *The Christmas Shoppe by Melody Carlson

*Cape Light Series by Thomas Kinkade and Katherine Spencer (most of the titles in the series are Christmas ones)

*Tidings of Comfort and Joy and *One Shenandoah Winter by Davis Bunn

*Twas the Night Before: A Love Story by Jerry Jenkins

*Donna VanLiere Christmas books (including The Christmas Shoes)

Forever Christmas by Christine Lynxwiler

All Jingled Out by Pamela Dowd and Christine Lynxwiler

On my “to read” list … (should make it through a few of these)

Christmas at Harringtons and *The Christmas Pony by Melody Carlson

Patchwork Christmas by Stephanie Grace Whitson and friends

*Paper Angels by Jimmy Wayne and Travis Thrasher

* Prayers of  a Stranger by Davis Bunn

*Light of Hope by Robert Vaughn

* A Wreath of Snow by Liz Curtis Higgs

Note: These are all stories.  In the future, I will be posting a list of advent activity resources.

Now I want to go dive into one of these titles – why do  I have dishes to do instead?  Maybe tonight if I am not too tired after the Husker game.  Go big red!

 

 

