Up for adventure

Did Jen just talk to us yesterday at MOPs?  Hard to believe that almost two weeks has passed since MOPs.  I had promised that I would pass on some of the suggestions that Jen had passed on to us of fun overnight outings.  So, here are a few links that you can check out if you are looking fora night away.

http://www.holidayinn.com/hotels/us/en/kearney/earnk/hoteldetail/photos-tours

(I am glad that my kids aren’t up yet because if they would have seen the pictures of this pool, they would want to go there TONIGHT! 🙂

Here is the hotel that my family has stayed at up in Omaha (located right off of I-80)

http://www.bestwesternkellyinnomaha.com/

This link will take you to information about staying at one of Nebraska’s state parks, including the cabooses.  (Evidently you can stay in a tepee also!)

http://www.cabinweb.com/menu/nebraska/nebraska.htm

If you are going to stay at one of the Nebraska state parks, you may as well sign up for one of the Nebraska passport adventures.  You can pick a tour to follow (family fun, cultural, culinary), and it will take you to different places across Nebraska.  Get the 8 stamps for the tour that you pick, and you may even win a prize.

Passport Tours

Well, I didn’t have any moms share any adventures which is why I didn’t share anything last week, although I could have shared one of my own.  One of my friends graciously gave my kids bunches of koolaid packets at Christmas time to make play dough.  I hadn’t gotten around to making any yet, partly because of time but also because crafts stress me out a bit.  I decided that I needed to get past that because I knew my kids would love it.  Well, I stashed the recipe she gave me somewhere safe – translation: I couldn’t find it when I needed it.  So, I found a recipe online, mixed all of the ingredients and ended up with … a gooey sticky mess that did not resemble playdough at all.  After adding about another cup of flour, my kids could mostly play with the dough.  I decided to try another batch and read the directions again.  Evidently I was supposed to combine the ingredients on the stove – missed the necessity of that part.  My 2nd batch was MUCH better.  Maybe I am not craft challenged as much as direction challenged.

Hope you have a fun adventure with your kids this week!

