Remembering

On this day many years ago I played the piano at the wedding of two high school friends.  Today they celebrate their 5th, I mean 20th, wedding anniversary.  I have to admit that I do not remember the exact dates of many of the weddings that I was a part of, but I can’t forget their date.

As I have been reading the first books of the Old Testament this year, I have been struck by how important remembering is to God.  As they were getting ready to leave Egypt soon and preparing the Passover, God was already commanding them to commemorate the ceremony again the following year.  God did not want them to forget what wonderful acts He had done on their behalf.  And if you read further on during Exodus, you can note all of the complaining the Israelites did and can see that God had a good reason to be concerned.

While we should never live in the past, I do think that is a good place to visit from time to time.   We need to spend time recalling all of the ways that God has been with us.  As I was getting ready to shred some financial documents the other day, I noticed a way that God had provided for us financially that I had somehow completely missed.   And when I look at my children, I can see proof (in scars or bumps/bruises) of God’s protection in situations that could have been worse.

I try to keep visible reminders of how God has been faithful.  One of my decorations that I put on our mantle every summer is a piece of bark that has this verse written on it: II Timothy 2:13 “If we are faithless, He remains faithful, for He cannot deny Himself. ”  To everyone else, it probably looks like a piece of driftwood, when in fact it is from the tree in the front yard of our former house in Hickman.  A piece that came down the night a tornado passed over our house.  The night that I continued home with our 18 month old son despite my husband’s request for me to go to my parents’ house (which was closer).  My husband just knew that it was stormy, but until he hung up the phone (he had reached me at a graduation party – we didn’t have a cell yet), he didn’t realize that a tornado was coming in the path I would need to travel home.  He had to wait, horrified, not knowing if we would make it safely.   The 20 minute drive was fine at first until the torrential rains hit and visibility turned to nothing.  I remember praying out loud “Help me, Jesus!” over and over while my son blissfully enjoyed his view of rain from the backseat.  God was faithful to protect us despite my unwillingness to listen to my husband.  (We finally did get a cell phone soon after this 🙂  I am so glad that I was prompted to collect that simple reminder years ago – tangible evidence of God’s faithfulness.

Do you feel like God is far away at times?  What do you need to remember?  What is one of the many situations you can look back at to see God’s fingerprints all over?  When we take the time to revisit how God has provided in the past, we can know that we can trust Him today and in the future.

Lamentations 3:21-26

21 This I recall to my mind,
Therefore I have hope.
22 The LORD’S lovingkindnesses indeed never cease,
For His compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
Great is Your faithfulness.
24 “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul,
“Therefore I have hope in Him.”
25 The LORD is good to those who wait for Him,
To the [g]person who seeks Him.
26 It is good that he waits silently
For the salvation of the LORD.

