Seven Songs for my Savior

A big part of my spiritual heritage is the knowledge of many hymns.  I can recall at least the first verse of so many wonderful hymns that teach theology to music.  I have such a love and appreciation for long ago written words of faith.  One book I cannot recommend highly enough is Christmas Carols for a Kids’s Heart which is written by Bobbie Wolgemuth and Joni Erickson Tada.  A recording of the hymns is even included.  Singing the long ago carols ministers to my heart.  My favorites are “O Come, O Come Emmanuel” and “Silent Night.” 

That being said, there are several recent songs that have been written about Christmas that are also strong lyrically in singing about my Savior.  As I started recalling some of my favorites, I realized that each of them are part of a memory for me.  So this column is going to end up being a little bit more personal than I originally thought.  But I hope you will still enjoy it.  Here are seven Savior songs that have impacted me.

“Rest” by Steve Green.   I am actually a fan of his, even though he is definitely “old school” – we grew up listening to his tapes in the car.  While this particular song is on his Christmas album, I have played the song throughout the year due to its soothing effects on my soul.  Often when I have felt anxious, I have found myself singing this song.

Rest, the Lord is near
Refuse to fear, enjoy His love
Trust, His mighty power
Fills every hour, of all your days

Chorus:
There is no need
For needless worry
With such a Savior
You have no cause to ever
Doubt, His perfect Word
Still reassures, in any trial

”Immanuel” by Michael Card  Another “old school artist” – his Christmas album is one of the first ones I owned.  I think the song has impacted me more because I read the thoughts beyond the song.  “Immanuel” was the word spoken to Michael and his wife at their wedding – that was the blessing that the preacher reminded them about – that God is with them.  My favorite Christmas decoration is a little stained glass candle holder with the word, “Emmanuel” on it.  Every time I see it, I want to feel overwhelmed that the Savior of the world wanted to dwell with us!

For all those who live in the shadow of death
A glorious light has dawned
For all those who stumble in the darkness
Behold your light has come

Immanuel
Our God is with us
And if God is with us
Who could stand against us
Our God is with us
Immanuel

“Breath of Heaven” by Amy Grant.  This is from the album that brings back the days of my freshman year up in MN at college – my first Christmas that I was away from home for part of the season.  This song gave me a new perspective of what it would have been like to been the mother to the Savior of the world. 

Do you wonder
As you watch my face
If a wiser one, should of had my place
But I offer-all I am
For the mercy-of your plan
Help me be strong
Help me be
Help me

Breath of Heaven
Hold me together
Be forever near me
Breath of Heaven

Breath of Heaven
Lighten my darkness
Pour over me, your holyness
For you’re holy Breath of Heaven

I first listened to Nicole C. Mullens’ “Christmas in Black and White” when I had just Gabriel, and we over at the house of a childhood friend, helping to watch her children.  I listened to the album over and over again the few hours that we were there.  Decided the whole album is definitely a keeper.  But the one sing that really sticks out to me at the moment is “Lamb of God.”

Once upon a long night, after a hard ride, somewhere in Bethlehem
A baby breaks the silence sweetly he’s crying I AM EMMANUEL
Then angels gave him music
Shepherds gave reverence and a message to the land
A widow held and cherished the God who became a man

Oh Lamb of God
Oh Prince of Peace
What tribute shall I bring to worship thee?
I have no gold to lay at your feet
So Lamb of God I offer me

Can you see the wise men?
A star did guide them searching all the earth
Till they found the one child the very Godchild who ruled the universe
Did they know the lady’s little baby was God and fully man
And everything they gave him he himself had made with his hands?

I bring you all my hopes
I bring you all my dreams
I give you all my soul my mind and all my strength
I wrap them all inside my heart to give to thee
AND I come
O come let us adore him
O come let us adore him
O come let us adore him Christ

“Christmas is Jesus” by Bryan Duncan  We kept borrowing this cd over and over from my mom the first few years we were married.  Finally we bought our own copy.  One of the most relaxing overall Christmas albums, and the first Christmas album my husband grudgingly agreed that he liked (other than the Peanuts one, of course J).

Christmas is Jesus, a child for all men

Gone from the manager and tomb he lay in

Christmas is Jesus, God’s love coming true

A star from the heavens has fallen for you.

 

“Labor of Love” sung by Jill Phillips (written by Andrew Peterson) I first heard this song at the “Behold the Lamb of God” concert at Berean.  Having had four little ones by this time, I understood even more about how when Mary said, “Be it unto me according to your Word,” what a beautiful sacrifice that was!

It was a labor of pain
 It was a cold sky above 
But for the girl on the ground in the dark
With every beat of her beautiful heart 
It was a labor of love
 
 “I Will Find a Way” by Andy Gullahorn (co-written with Jason Gray)

Every year the reality of the Christmas story becomes more profound to me.  As I was listening to music recently, this is the song that caught my ear.  I was going to quote just part of this song, but I decided that brief mention would not do it justice.  I found this “Advent Monologue” when I was looking for the lyrics.  Please read it, and then listen to at least part of the song on I-Tunes.  Maybe it will move you to tears as it did me!

http://www.rabbitroom.com/2011/09/track-11-i-will-find-a-way/

