Four drinks for sipping

I think the sunshine was a bit deceiving today, as the temperature was definitely colder than it looked.   Seems to be a good night to curl up with a hot drink.  (And maybe a movie or a good book if you are blessed enough to be caught up on everything!   Or if you are just good at ignoring the mess, like I am about to do!  J)  Here are four different hot drink recipes.  The first recipe is from a Gooseberry Patch cookbook.  This is the hot chocolate that I usually make after the kids are in bed.  Not sure that the kids would appreciate it as much as Kyle and I do (plus maybe I am just a tad bit selfish.)  The next 3 are recipes that my friends were kindly willing to let me share with you!

White Chocolate: In a saucepan, combine ¼ c. half & half, 2/3 c. white chocolate (or vanilla) chips, 1/8 t. cinnamon and 1/8 t. nutmeg.  Stir over low heat until the chips are melted.  Add 2 ¾ c. more half & half.  Heat through.  Add 1 t. vanilla and ¼ t. almond flavoring before serving.  Makes 2 large mugs.  Note: I usually use fat free half and half.  Milk also works fine, although then it is not as rich tasting (but still yummy!)

To make any of the following mixes, you can simply use a spoon.  If you use a blender or a food processor, the mix will be smoother though.

Hot Chocolate Mix (from our Moppets Coordinator, Rhonda)
1 8qt box powdered milk
1 lb container Nestle’s Quik
1 6 oz container Coffee Mate
1 cup powdered sugar

Mix together well.  Use 1/3 cup to 1 cup hot water.  Adjust mix to personal taste.

Lori’s Chai Tea Mix  Combine 1 c. milk powder, 2/ ½ c. sugar, 1 c. non-dairy powdered creamer, 1 c. French vanilla powdered non-dairy creamer 1 ½ c. unsweetened instant tea  2 t. ginger  1 t. cloves 2 t. cinnamon 1t. cardamom 1 t. allspice 1 t. nutmeg (1/4 t. white pepper)  Stir 2 heaping tablespoons into a mug of  hot milk (or water) .  You can add less mix if you use milk.

Lisa’s Chocolate Cappuccino 1 c. instant coffee creamer  1 c. Nestle Quik  ½ c. sugar ¾ c. instant coffee ½ t. cinnamon ¼ t. nutmeg.  Add 2 T. to 6 oz. of hot water.

ENJOY!

P.S. Since my kids were happily coloring upstairs, I thought I would sneak down and quickly write my blog entry.  I had been downstairs for maybe 10 minutes when my oldest quickly called me up.  Evidently they decided that their coloring books just weren’t good enough, and that fridge looked like a much more interesting surface.  Thankfully we (yes, they helped) were able to clean up the mess, but that it is what I get for trying to get anything done when my children are awake! L

