One book for reading …

Okay – don’t panic – Christmas is now officially less than 2 weeks away.  I thought it would be fun to do a series of blogs for a MOPS version of the 12 Days of Christmas.  Since I am currently in the middle of a good book that I am excited to get back to reading since the kids are finally in bed, I thought it was fitting to have the first day be “one good book to read.”  (Although the library will let you check out more.  In fact, up to 150 per card – I know from personal experience with my kids’ books for school – pretty pathetic I know 🙂  Anyway, here is my column from last year’s newsletter with several good suggestions that are available at the library.

Finding books about Santa is easy, but finding Christmas books about Jesus is harder, which is rather ironic since it is his birthday that we are celebrating.  If you search subject “Jesus Christ – Nativity – fiction” you will find many selections, then you can limit your search to picture books if that is all you are looking for.  Here are a few of my favorites …

Debi Glouri’s What Can I Give Him?

Max Lucado’s  Alabaster’s Song , The Crippled Lamb and Jacob’s Gift

Frank McCour’s Angela and the Baby Jesus

Dandi Daley McKall’s The Gift of the Christmas Cookie

Laura Krauss Melmed’s Hurry! Hurry!  Have You Heard?

Lori Walburg’s The Legend of the Candy Cane

Susan Wojciechowski’s The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey While this is a long book, it is a captivating one for older preschoolers!

A book for older ones: Ann McGovern’s The Lady in the Box SO convicting!  A good reminder that Christmas isn’t always merry for everyone!

Here are some other recommended Christmas book titles that are recommended by Kathy V. (probably would need to be purchased, although some are at the library).  I also added a few books of my own – they are the ones in italics.

Our top picks for devotionals for kids:

Christmas Stories for Bedtime by Renae Brumbaugh

My First Read and Learn Countdown to Christmas by Dr. Mary Manz Simon

Once Upon a Christmas- Five “I believe in Jesus” read aloud stories by William R Goetz

The Twelve Voices of Christmas by Woodrow Kroll (also available in cd)

The Adventure of Christmas- Helping children find Jesus in our holiday traditions by Lisa Whelchel. (recommended already in the newsletter)

For adults: Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room by Nancy Guthrie

Meet me at the Manger…. and I’ll Lead you to the cross– 100 devotions from Christmas to Easter by Leighann McCoy.

Boardbooks- The J is for Jesus by Alice Joyce Davidson

A Christmas ABC by Alice Gold

Baby’s First Nativity by Muff Singer/Standard Publishing

The Pine Tree Parable by Liz Curtis Higgs

My Merry Christmas and the Real Reason for Christmas Joy by Sally Lloyd-Jones

Christmas with Boz by Mark Bernthal

This is the Star by Joce Dunbar and Gary Blythe

One Baby Jesus by Patricia A. Pingry

Picture books:

The Legend of the Candy Cane by Lori Walberg and James Bernardin

The Jesse Tree by Geraldine McCaughrean (recommended by Lynette)

One Wintry Night by Ruth Bell Graham

The Best Christmas Pagent Ever by Barbara Robinson (short chapter book)

If Your’e Missing Baby Jesus- a true story that embraces the spirit of Christmas by Jean Gietzen;

Peek-a-Bible The Christmas Story by Tracy Harrast

The Best Thing about Christmas by Christine Harder Tangvald

The Very First Christmas by Paul L. Maier

King of the Stable by Melody Carlson

Books for adults- A Bethlehem Christmas by Charles R Swindoll

Two from Galilee and Three from Galilee by Marjorie Holmes

Unafraid by Francine Rivers

Gideon’s Gift, Maggie’s Miracle, Sarah’s Song, Hannah’s Hope, and A Treasury of Christmas Miracle’s by Karen Kingsbury

The Paper Bag Christmas by Kevin Alan Milne

The Christmas Bus , The Chrimast Shoppe, and The Gift of Christmas Present by Melody Carlson

The Heart and Home of Christmas by Karla Dornacher

Forever Christmas by Christine Lynxwiler

Well, I am sure that I am forgetting some great books, but between Kathy and me, you should have more than enough to get you started.  Well, I guess the dishes are calling my name, along with the 6 dozen cookies I get to make for our annual cookie exchange.  The exciting book gets to wait – oh, well!

