A Look @ Books to be Thankful For

Last year, I had the privilege of writing a column for the newsletter on reading books to your kids.  Since Thanksgiving is just a few days away, you may want to spend time in the midst of the busyness to cuddle and read a few books with your kids.  So, I thought I would post my Thanksgiving book  list from last year’s newsletter just in case you threw away (GASP!) last year’s newsletter or in case you are new to MOPs.  Several of these books are available in the library – some can be found at Barnes & Noble or CBD.  (Since I happen to own some of these books, you would have been able to borrow them from me, other than the fact that my kids wouldn’t let you.  Definite favorites around here! 🙂

 

A Look @ Books to be thankful for …

Some favorites that I used to read to my students & now love reading to my kids!

Eve Bunting’s A Turkey for Thanksgiving

Alison Jackson’s I Know an Old Lady who Swallowed a Pie So silly!

Dav Pilkey’s ‘Twas the Night Before Thanksgiving

Recent finds: Over the River and through the Wood David Catrow’s illustrations make this book a gem!  (And you can even sing it if you know the tune!)

Maribeth Boelt’s The Firefighters’ Thanksgiving (being thankful for helpers)

 

Bonus Books: The Christian perspective on Thanksgiving (at CBD and Amazon)

Eric Metaxes’ Squanto and the Miracle of Thanksgiving

Karma Wilson’s Give Thanks to the Lord (based on Psalm 92)

Kathy-jo Wargin’s Mary’s First Thanksgiving: An Inspirational Story of Gratefulness based on a true story about being thankful despite hardship

